Trinity Church

ANNUAL MEETINGS - DRAFT For approval 20th May 2024



Monday May 22nd 2023 7:30pm

1. Welcome and Prayer

Short discussion in small groups of something people are thankful for in the past year.

2. 'Vestry' meeting

Attendance and Apologies

Attendance: (See list at the bottom of this document)

Apologies from: Dave Rowe, Mike Taylor, Fiona Taylor, Mike Fuller, Richard Coton, Marjorie Coton, Neville Page-Jones, Jill Cheeseman, Pete McCrea, Karen Green, Chris Lang, Bruce Bennetts, Tim Benton, Nigel Jobson, Jacqui Clapp, Julie Kennedy, Graham Leighton, Anne Gate, David Lynch, Pat Selby, Helen Pollard, Melissa O'Leary, Jonathan Watkins, James De Courcey, Clare De Courcy.

Minutes of 'Vestry' meeting 22.05.2022

Proposed by - Christine Robertson Seconded by - Nicki Blyth Abstentions - Tom Johnston, James Clapp

3. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Election of Churchwardens

Thanks were expressed to Barry Lambert and Liz Lang for the way they had served for the past year. They have both agreed to stand for election again this year.

Barry Lambert was proposed by Sue Lambert and seconded by Julia Thomson Abstention - Rob Mattholie **Liz Lang** was proposed by Jacqui Clapp and seconded by Iona Hay Abstention - Rob Mattholie

Q- Why do we not know in advance who is standing? Names are on the church door in advance for church wardens. Will try and produce a bio for next year of those standing as Church Wardens, PCC and Deanery Synod representatives, providing we know in good time who wants to stand and have been nominated.

There were no other nominations and Barry and Liz were elected as Church Wardens for 2023.

Andrew Blyth closed the meeting.

Annual Parochial Church Meeting.

1. Minutes of the APCM held on 22/05/2022.

Minutes proposed as correct by Christine Roberson and seconded by Jenny Harris.

Abstentions: Helen Coleman, Duncan Harkness, Barry Lambert, James Clapp, Tom Johnston

2. Matters arising.

No matters arising.

3. Reports.

a. Electoral roll

On 22/05/2022 there were 316 people on the electoral roll.18 were removed and 36 added since then. The new total is now 334.

b. Church activities during 2022.

A report was circulated along with an Impact report. Andrew thanked all the team members for their hard work and highlighted a few areas including safeguarding and prayer. See attached reports for more details.

c. Financial statements for 2022.

Liz Lang gave a presentation of the attached report.

Q - Does the Parish Share reflect what the incumbents get paid and so should be included in salaries?

No, It's a fixed amount that we pay to the diocese that they then redistribute in stipends, housing, pensions for all incumbents across the diocese. Andrew, Tim and Simon are paid & supported out of this central fund. The amount of parish share paid to the diocese depends on the size of church you are, not the amount of pastors you have. Some churches will pay more and some will pay less. It is an entirely voluntary payment made to the diocese.

Liz thanked Christine Robertson & Beth Horlick-Jones for all their hard work. She also thanked the resources group for all their input and hard work. Harry Steven, Dave Rowe, Marion David, Steve Harris, Barry Lambert

d. Fabric and Operations.

Church tower needs some significant work done on it which is why the kitchen and carpets haven't been replaced yet. The PCC only looks after the Church building. TCT looks after and manages Trinity House, Fusion, The Garage and 45 Portland St.

Andrew expressed thanks to Marion David for all her work in the area of HR.

e. Cheltenham Deanery.

Andrew Blyth gave a verbal summary of the discussions and topics which had taken place at Cheltenham Deanery Synod meetings during the year. He drew particular attention to the Deanery Mission Plan which is looking at the configuration of parishes and people throughout Cheltenham. Fabric and Coopers Edge plant are part of the diocese plans going forward.

4. Appointment of independent financial examiners.

Proposed to appoint PGT this year as recommended by sub group. All voted in favour.

5. Elections.

a. PCC

Edmund Smith is standing down and thanks were expressed to him for his service.

There are 5 spaces to fill and the following people have been nominated:

- 1. Mike Fuller Proposed by Harry Steven, seconded by Sandy Steven
- 2. Clare Benton Proposed by Jacqui Clapp, seconded by Chris Lang
- 3. Nick Eden Proposed by Dan James, seconded by Andrew Whittaker
- 4. Sophie Whisker Proposed by Joanna Daykin, seconded by Charis Baker
- 5. Dave Rowe Proposed by Mike Taylor, seconded by Fiona Taylor

No vote needed so all were appointed unanimously.

b. Deanery Synod representatives.

All representatives needed to restand this year and there are 4 spaces to fill. Mike Fuller is stepping down and thanks were expressed to him for his service. Candidates standing are:

- 1. Patrick Olaniyi proposed by Iona Hay, seconded by Liz Lang.
- 2. Iona Hay proposed by Hannah Jenkins, seconded by Sophie Whisker.
- 3. Milcah Troughton proposed by Holly Pratley, seconded by Tim O'Learv

4. Martin Lovegrove - proposed by Richard Coton, seconded by Duncan Harkness

No vote needed so all were appointed unanimously.

The 2 casual vacancies from last year were filled by Caroline Breckon & Russell Brooks.

6. A.O.B

The meeting closed with small group discussion & prayer.

In attendance:

1. Rachael Gil

- 2. Dan Green
- 3. Hils Grew
- 4. Julia Hande
- 5. Duncan Harkness
- 6. Jenny Harris
- 7. Steve Harris
- 8. Iona Hav
- 9. Rachel Hodges
- 10. Mario Ivanov
- 11. Daniel James
- 12. Hannah James
- 13. Tom Johnson
- 14. Barry Lambert
- 15. Sue Lambert
- 16. Liz Lang
- 17. Dave Lee
- 18. Rebecca Lee
- 19. Joanna Leighton
- 20. Martin Lovegrove
- 21. Megan Lovegrove
- 22. Rowan Lovegrove
- 23. Katherine Lynch
- 24. Jenny Mattholie
- 25. Rob Mattholie
- 26. Sarah-Louise McCrea
- 27. Sue McLean
- 28. Helen Moss
- 29. Ophelia Neville
- 30. Jay Norris
- 31. Tim O'Leary
- 32. Stephen Pollard
- 33. Christine Robertson
- 34. Keith Selby
- 35. James Slough
- 36. Harry Steven

- 37. Sandy Steven
- 38. Helen Thomas
- 39. Julia Thomson
- 40. Neil Thomson
- 41. Jeremy Wall
- 42. Libby Wall
- 43. Katherine Watkins
- 44. Sophie Whisker
- 45. Andrew Whittaker
- 46. Sue Bennetts
- 47. Clare Benton
- 48. Nicki Blyth
- 49. Nick Bradbury
- 50. Caroline Breckon
- 51. Matthew Breckon
- 52. Russell Brooks
- 53. Joel Callow
- 54. James Clapp
- 55. Helen Coleman
- 56. Nick Eden
- 57. Rebecca Eden

In attendance but not on the Electoral Roll:

- 58. Nicky Jacklin
- 59. David Middleton
- 60. Grace Wilson
- 61. Rev. Simon Fellows (Curate in training)
- 62. Rev. Nick Stott (self supporting minister)
- 63. Jonathan Taylor
- 64. Rev. Tim Grew (Incumbent)
- 65. Rev. Andrew Blyth (Incumbent)
- 66. Bob Thomas